Sic Semper Tyrannis in print and how I made The Change

No.  I did not pull a Bruce Jenner. 

My change: I ditched Windows for a Mac.  Why, you ask?  I’ll give you a one word answer: Scrivener.

All writers who use Scrivener know that the Windows version is a poor relation to the Mac version.  It’s no fault of Literature and Latte–they created the Mac version because, well, the developer used a Mac at the time.   Makes sense. A few years later, they branched out and created the Windows version.  So the Windows version is years behind it’s cousin in terms of functionality and ease of use.  Don’t get me wrong, the Windows version is still the best writing software for PCs that I ever used.

Plus, I have hated Windows 8.1 since I was forced to use it when we bought our last computer, around Thanksgiving of 2014. The previous one died in a freak thunderstorm. Fried motherboard. Since then Windows 8.1 has growing increasingly buggy, slow, and more irritating on a monthly basis. When the chance presented itself to make the switch, I jumped at it and haven’t looked back. While I haven’t fully explored/embraced the Mac OS yet, what I have seen this far (since Tuesday of this week) is VERY promising.

Now that I have myself a Mac and the Mac version of Scrivener…oh my.  Let’s just say I’ve been playing around with it this week and I’ve barely scratched the surface of what this beauty (the computer and the software) can do.  I was compiling review drafts for my editor–exactly how I wanted it to look–in minutes, using only Scrivener.  When I used the PC version, I had to spend a considerable amount of time just tweaking the backwards settings, then export everything to Word to get it looking the way I wanted it (don’t get me started on how I had to tweak things for Amazon).

Long story short, I think biting the bullet and switching to Mac is going to speed up my production, reduce the stress of publication, and result in better products for you, my readers.  It’s a win-win situation for everyone!  Except Bill Gates.  But he’s the richest man in history, so I don’t really feel sorry for him at all.

Anyway, the other big (bigger, really) news is that the proof copies of SST arrived in my grubby hands (with the weather finally taking a turn for the better lately, I’ve been in the garden every day) and she is a BEAUTY!  I think–and I don’t mean to toot my own horn here–that this is the best paperback book I’ve ever produced.  It’s seriously tempting to take the skills I have now and go back to redo the covers, formats, etc., of the other books just so they’ll all be in line.  When I think back on that first cover for AJE in print…

 
image

and compare it to this:

image

 

Wow.  Big difference.

The new paperback should be available on Amazon this weekend.  It comes it at a whopping 646 pages and looks like proper Clancy-esque doorstop.  Lovely!

Leave a Reply

