Freehold Friday: Mission Accomplished

Veni, vidi, vici.

Camp-Winner-2015-Web-Banner

That’s right, I took on Camp NaNoWriMo and won!  Before you go all Charlie Sheen on me, winning simply means I hit my publicly stated goal (in my case, 100,000 words…the standard goal is 50,000 though).  I ended up writing 108,000 words in 30 days.

winner 2

But wait!  There’s more!  I put the final touch on the last chapter of The Shift today and officially finished the first draft!  After revision we’ll see what the true count is, but it weighs in at 143,915 words right now. I’m aiming for an early summer release.  Details to follow.

In the meantime, I’m taking the weekend off before I start drafting AJE 3.  Writing a book in a Month (mostly) is exhausting!  What are y’all doin’ this weekend?  Something relaxing I hope!

I’m thinking about taking a different route for AJE 3.  Instead of making a huge brick out of the book with many different POVs and a short(-ened) story for each, I’m thinking of going the G.R.R. Martin route and making a book that focuses on a few POVs and continues the main story line.  Then the next book would focus on the other POVs (yet “Go back in time” and continue their stories) so the next two books would be parallel to each other, not sequential.

It’s a neat (I think–I know Martin took a lot of heat for it) approach that would solve some of the problems I’m thinking I may encounter very soon.  The stories I’m envisioning would necessitate a MASSIVE book or several books to do it justice, but I have a sinking feeling that would feel schizophrenic.  My other option would be to end some story lines in order to focus on the big ones (don’t worry, Team Larsson will definitely make the cut, pun intended).

What say you, dear reader?

If you want to know before everyone else (even the readers of this blog!) when the next book will be released, any promotions or other cool news, sign up to get the monthly Freeholder Update today!

Leave a Reply

