Freehold Friday: I love Photoshop, or, see the new AJE cover!

Since I am closing in on the half-way mark with editing Sic Semper Tyrannis (AJE2), I figured it’s time to update the cover for Alea Jacta Est.  I was never really happy with it, other than the simplistic design:

AJE cover

I mean, that pretty much sums up the story right there, doesn’t it?  America on fire, burning from within.

Anyway.

That cover took me all of 15 minutes to throw together back in the day.  I found some stock imagery of a ring of fire and a flag and boom, black background, some text, and Richard’s your uncle.  Or is it Bob’s your uncle?  Whatever.  You’ve got an uncle, ok?  And I had a decent, if stark cover design.

This time around, after doing some actual research on cover design for False Prey, the theories I’ve read and studied finally clicked.  Here is the result, a more movie-like poster for AJE:

image

 

What do you think?  I’d say it’s a step up from the original cover.  And I’ve got a real doozie of a cover worked up for the sequel.  One less thing to distract me from editing.  I won’t give it away yet–I’ll let you all be the first to see it, don’t worry, but that won’t happen until it’s done editing and about ready to publish.  But I’m not cruel, I’ll give you a teaser: there’s blood, shadows, and a knife.  Nice.

Anyway–seriously–let me know what you think of the new cover.  It’s going to go live soon in preparation for the launch of the sequel, to be titled Sic Semper Tyrannis.

Speaking of the new book, if you’re interested in getting your hands on it faster than everyone else, sign up for the Freeholder Update, where I announce the release dates of all my books in advance and even gave away copies of False Prey to celebrate its release.  Who knows, maybe the Freeholders will be getting more stuff?  Hmmm?  Only one way to find out, muchacho.  Man up, sign up.  Here.

Okay, enough procrastination.  Back to editing before I start sniffing around for more free fonts to use in my covers.  I love fonts.  Fonts, fonts, fonts…

Leave a Reply

