Freehold Friday: A New Hope…I mean beginning…

Had to throw out the Episode IV ref in honor of Episode VII coming out this year.  Though it’s gonna be a loooong wait for December.  I hope it’ll be worth it!

Anyway, moving on to non-Star Wars related items…

I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Year, and that y’all survived the holidays unscathed by parties, friends, families, and sickness.  Yep, it’s flu season again and it sure seems this year is off to a helluva start.  CDC declared epidemics in a handful of states in the middle of the country, a little ahead of schedule.

No need to panic, they say, but oh–those flu shots ya got don’t work this year.  Sorry.  I say thanks—that little tidbit of info will likely make it’s way into Wildifre Book 2 (The Shift) or 3 (The Rising)…

Speaking of books and flu, I discovered the first downside to dictating a book: when you’re sick and you lose your voice, you can kiss writing goodbye unless you type.  My kids brought home a nasty cold at the end school last month that, while it wasn’t the flu, was bad enough to wreck my speaking voice since last Friday.  I’ve tried typing, but with a spaz-tastic 14 week-old vizsla puppy in the house on top of the three toddlers…quiet time to sit and type undisturbed is…um…a fantasy.

Cue Jeff Foxworthy: You know you’re a writer when your spouse says “You’ve been working so hard with the kids and the dog and being sick…you need to go out with the guys and get some drinks or hang out and just relax…”

Annnnnd instead of jumping all over that offer, you say: “Naaaah, just take the kids, lock up the dog, and give me a few hours of peace and quiet so I can work on my book!”

That sums up the past holiday season quite nicely.  Despite all that, I have managed to get about 10,000 words typed in the last 2 weeks.  I was averaging that every 4 days since the beginning of November but, come on.  I mean, all my kids are home and two out of 3 are sick.  Every day.  Since December 19.

It’s been fun. When does school start?

Lets see, what else?  In AJE2 news, I wasn’t happy with the way a few chapters were put together, so I’ve been reworking the order to try and find a better flow.  Scrivener is just fantastic for this.  I simply drag and drop the scene where I want it–no cutting and pasting required.  I love it!

In fact, thanks to Scrivener I’m trying a new way to write my books. Since there are multiple plotlines, I am writing each plotline to its conclusion then going back and writing the next one. In the past, I wrote every book and story start to finish in a straight line-like. It required a lot of mental gymnastics to keep the story straight and some heavy editing/revising at the end to keep the story cohesive, but it worked for me—at least according to my readers. So we’ll see how this new method works…

Hey, have you signed up for my newsletter yet? Click here to join the Freehold and get your own copy of the Freeholder Update
.

Leave a Reply

