It’s Freehold Friday!

I’ve had a lot of requests to start doing weekly updates here at the Freehold and I can’t hold ’em off any more.  So, after a flood of emails, here it is, the first of my weekly updates – welcome to ‘Freehold Friday’.

I know, I know – it’s so catchy you could just scream!

Ahem.  Now, what I really gathered all 5 – no, 6 – of you  together for was to share with you the official update!

The first revision of Oath of Office is complete and I’m plowing ahead with my second revision thanks to the kind efforts of my beta reader, whom I’ll identify as ‘Rotag’ (he doesn’t want me to use his real name).  Anyhow,  Rotag is likin’ what I’ve done and the changes I’ve made to the manuscript.  Things are flowing better and looking more polished every day.  It’s harder and harder to keep from rushing the book through the revision process and get it out there.

Anyhow, what I’m planning for this here blog will be weekly updates (I’ve got a handful of books in various stages of development…so I’m busier than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs). I’ll let y’all behind the scenes a bit, show you what moves me, what shakes me, what I’m working (or procrastinatin’) on, or rants and ruminations.   Maybe we’ll set up some contests for later.  We’ll find out together.

So, since this is the first post, I figure I’ll get things rolling with a bang. I decided to change the name of my latest novel. Yep, folks who’ve seen bits and pieces of it know the story as Oath of Office.   I thought that was a nice title, but only really appropriate to about a quarter of the characters in the book, now that I’m standing here looking at it from the end. So I contemplated my navel for a while and finally came up with the new title (which fits for all the characters…):

Apache Dawn.  For those of you (and there were more than I realized) who really liked the name Oath of Office, fear not!  I’ve decided to expand the story into two more books – and I already have ideas for stories based on one of the main characters in Apache Dawn – in the Oath of Office cycle.

I’ll give you a moment to take that in….

Okay, now y’all sit back and think on why you hate or love the new name. Let me know!

Next Week: Apache Dawn: the cover!

 

PS: that ain’t all, folks!  I have taken a short hiatus from AJE2 (man I have got to come up with a name for that) so’s I could concentrate on wrapping up Apache Dawn, but I’ve been scratching out notes for the next couple chapters.  It’s still moving forward!

Leave a Reply

